Here we go again!

By MI

59, rue de Varenne

Elsa Triolet and Louis Aragon rented an apartment in this building from 1960 to Aragon's death in 1982. I walk by it on my way to the Rodin Museum.

I got to read some interesting stuff there today. Even the archivists, who are super nice and helpful, seemed excited to bring it out. One memorable document about the woman I'm researching, written by a contemporary who hated her, said that she was so determined that if you closed the door on her, she would find a window to get in, and if you closed the window... she'd break the glass even if she were to get shards stuck in her hands!

I was exhausted from reading about her toughness all day, and from walking to the Museum and back, so was very grateful that J cooked us a nice dinner. I did still venture out to the pretty Franprix for some chocolate for us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.