WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Windy day

And a busy one. As usual intercambio on Wednesday evening saw us getting home at nearly midnight after a riotous evening of wine, tapas and chat. Then I had to get up early enough to meet the walking group in Salobreña at ten -- a walk rescheduled from the mountains as the weather forecast was so bad. It was breezy and intermittently sunny; we went on a very brisk walk around the campo. It was flat and not long (7 km) but the pace was faster than I would have liked. Hence no photos at all from the walk. 

Afterwards I picked up S from his Spanish class, also in Salobreña, and then we went home to drop my walking kit, before walking into town for lunch at Almuñecar's fanciest restaurant. We'd enjoyed it last time we were there, over a year ago. But this time we found the food not that adventurous, and far too copious -- even with my appetite stimulated by the walk I couldn't finish my main course.

This kept us occupied till 4 pm; back home for a rest, and then another walk into town (I'm racking up the kilometres today, since every return journey into town is another 3.5 km). We went to see the film Cold War at the Casa de la Cultura. It was really excellent (it won best director at Cannes for Pawel Pawlikowski). It's filmed in black and white, with many scenes in semi-darkness, and the cinematography is just gorgeous. I recommend it. And it's only 90 minutes long, a rarity these days. No longueurs or unnecessary scenes. And lovely music: beautiful Polish folk music, some jazz, and a finale with Glenn Gould's later version of the Goldberg Variations.

This is the first wintry weather we've had -- but still no rain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.