A favourite CD

The ordinary workday week is over. It hasn't really been that ordinary. Monday was a public holiday. Tuesday and Wednesday the resident doctors union had called a strike (the second of four they plan). Yesterday was a normal enough day for a Thursday at work, and then overnight, I was woken a number of times, as I am on call this week for medico legal and administrative issues, which not infrequently morph into a clinical question instead or as well. Today at work was quiet, almost a normal Friday. No opportunity to walk in the Domain. 

I arrived home without a photo. On the way to work, I had seen an appealing subject, only for movement to alter the appearance so much it no longer appealed.Even with carrying the wee Canon where I could get it quickly, there was no time to stop the bike and get the camera before the change had occurred.

While talking with S about our different days (she went to lunch with Young L), I saw that I had not put away this CD, which is one of my real favourites. Young L does not start the new school year until next week, and although he could stay with his older brother (at nearly 15 he is old enough to legally look after his younger brother), he asked to hang out with Granny and have lunch together. They had a good time at The Tasting Room. 

When they went in, the wait staff looked at Young L (all of 11 years old, even if tall for his age) and said that they don't have a children's menu. With his Granny's support it was made clear that Young L was more than content with the adult menu. He is a lovely lad, who is not afraid (most of the time) to try anything at least once.

The CD in my blip, features Billie Holiday with Teddy Wilson. Little I could say would enhance the reputation of one of the greatest of the great Jazz singers. I recently read about how she was basically denied life saving treatment by the FBI during a last illness. I cannot imagine New Zealand police behaving in that way. Even less could I imagine nurses and doctors in this country allowing such intervention as was described in what I read. Yes, she was addicted to opioids. No; she did not deserve to die in such a way.

Teddy Wilson was a great Jazz pianist and along with Gene Krupa (drums), Lionel Hampton (Vibes) and Benny Goodman (clarinet) was part of the greatest small Jazz band ever. My favourite track on this favourite CD is Holiday singing "More than you know"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.