Emerson's Turn

As I said yesterday, I did not sit on Henry's hat!  I may have inadvertently stepped on it but that's not the same.  Still, Henry is not a bad fellow as far as mice go so we have struck a truce.  Mom says it is the first day of spring according to ancient Celtic tradition,  Doesn't look much like spring to me but I'm just a cat and I don't know much about ancient Celtic traditions.  Mom is starting to talk a lot about a place called Ireland, she's going there in May.  I'm not much of a traveler but Henry is going so he'll tell me all about it when they get back.

Mom said that in ancient Irish law, the Catslecta, cats were valued highly and protected.  (Sounds a grand place to me!)  A cat that had a loud purr and could rid a house of mice was worth 3 cows!  Do you hear that Henry?  I love milk and having 3 cows would be super but, if truth be told, I'm sort of getting fond of that little runt so I don't think I will be ridding the house of him.  Mmm...milk.  I think I hear Mom in the kitchen...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.