WITH A SONG IN MY HEART

By lizzie_birkett

Time to Read

As the work on the house lessens we're finding we can knock off in the afternoon rather than the evening. 
This means we're not too tired to read our books or watch a film to the end!
I'm reading a book I got at the car boot sale in Dumfries a couple of years ago for £3  - English Social History by George Trevelyan. It is a 1st edition in Great Britain 1944. See other photo. The book spans 6 centuries from Chaucer to Queen Victoria and concentrates on the lives of ordinary folk. 
I hated History when I was at school; it seemed to me it was all about kings and queens which I found so boring. I can still remember the text book 'Our Heirs' and the cover was a picture of a red brick wall.
I need the dictionary at hand as I found some words that I didn't know the meaning of - like demesne!
Bella May is drying out on her towel after a much needed shower.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.