Poppy

By Poppy

Road closures

No snow left, just black ice lurking in patches.  Much more snow and ice the nearer I got to Kirkwall, so I took my time getting to the hairdresser.  Shorn I am, shorn!  Madness in this weather, but I'm not short of a hat or two!

Coming home there was a bit of a wait. The local farmer was repairing a culvert and you can't hang about with ready mixed concrete!  The field was too wet to take the tractor into it, so they were transporting it in the digger bucket of the tracked loader.  A small boy I used to know would have given his eye teeth to watch proceedings - he loved anything to do with tractors and machinery.  He's an architect now . . . 

J came and collected Scratch at lunchtime, and we were sad to see her go.  She has been good company and it was lovely to have a dog in the house again.  Out to the monthly Garden Club meeting in the evening, where I managed to come second in the quiz and win a pair of secateurs, and then a bottle of wine in the raffle!  Whoopee!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.