But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Hedgehog.

We went out to lunch at the local arts association café, they usually have some sort of exhibition on though, now I think of it, I have no idea what it was; however, there were some pom-pom animals on sale. They are based on a very simple idea, but skilfully crafted and, this particular one, I thought would make a nice present for one of our acquaintances as well as nice Blip for TD.
After lunch I had an appointment with our local reading group where my book contribution was the biographical “The Tattooist of Aushwitz.” I didn’t find it anywhere near as gruesome as I’d expected, with the horrors being understated with trivialising the reality; it is also a love story with a happy ending, again, without being too sentimental. Two of us read this particular book and had great difficulty convincing the rest that it wasn’t too grepugnant.
For my poem, I had the lyrics to the Hattie Jaques song, “The Bird on Nellies Hat.” something I first heard over 50 years ago; my choice of poetry usually lightens the mood somewhat.
 
It is now the 1st of February, and it had been my intention to put my continuous run of January Blips to bed by the end of the month – give or take an hour or so. Unfortunately I left my computer at the camera club yesterday with everything on it apart Tuesday’s picture which is on my compact, which Jnr has borrowed and is now out celebrating the result of the Hearts football game. Perhaps I’ll manage tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.