memento

By memento

I did NOT get a tree

I/We don't do a Christmas tree, mostly because we have no room/space/a spot, unless we move some piece of furniture out.

With eight neighborhood ladies coming for dinner, I felt the pressure to do something, anything to demonstrate that I, too, love Christmas in my own understated and underwhelmed way.

Besides needing to clean, there was also the task of making all the last minute eats, and then one guest called to say she had a cold and couldn't make it. She was in charge of the wine and beverages committee so I panicked and sprinted out to the store to get some wine, thinking all the way that I didn't need this on top of everything...grrr, grumble, grumble, grumble. Then I walk in and saw this tiny wonder, some itty bitty undecorated spruce, no taller than ten inches. I fell in love, cradled it in my arms, told it how spectacularly cute it was and then wondered what on earth I could decorate it with that wouldn't weigh the tiny branches down. A quick hop next door to the craft store - another additional stop I didn't need - yielded these diminutive glitter balls. With old jewelry wire I fashioned them into hanging ornaments and there it was in the center of the table! My Christmas tree.

The ladies arrived, even the sick one dragged herself over. Seven gourmet pizzas later and the party was still going strong. Mr. M went to a movie by himself to get out of the way but he couldn't stay out past 10:30. the brave soul. Despite him going to bed with ear plugs, the merriment kept on going till right after midnight. I stayed up till 2:00 am to clean up.

I love cooking for and entertaining my neighbor ladies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.