Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Potholes

This winter has been very hard on the road - the dirt road - we regularly take our walks on. Believe me there have NEVER been potholes like this before in all the years we've been walking up and down. There's definitely something silly about it. No point in the highway department trying to fix it yet I suppose, but I'm rather afraid that when they finally do try to fix it, it's going to take a lot more than just smoothing things out with a grader. The danger is that there will be a movement to pave the road - which in many ways would be an improvement - but would involve widening the road which would involve cutting down lots of trees, etc. etc. The Husband and the dogs in attempt to add a bit of scale...

I can't resist an extra - we had just about reached the end of this road - on our way home - when we heard the oddest sound. The husband said it sounded to him like a dog choking. I thought it sounded like a squirrel - with a sore throat - scolding. When we located the sound it turned out to be black vultures sitting in a tree. Two of them were sort of vying for a single branch I think. Looking at my photo, it seems to me that two of them are probably young ones - born in the spring of 2018. Maybe the one in the middle is Mum. Dad was at a slight remove in a different tree. Ha! Vultures almost never *say* anything - so the whole scene is also a candidate for Silly Saturday, I think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.