a town called E.

By Eej

Almost a hug.

I realised after we got back from a rainy trip for groceries that I didn't feed the backyard buddies yesterday. Not that they are in dire need or anything, with temperatures well above average, but they are used to a certain routine and they don't like change. So, I headed back out into the rain to fill the feeders, with only a tiny bit of grumble in my step.

I put the food for the sparrows on the plank, turned to the porch swing feeder and turned back to put peanuts out. And then it happened; a massively hungry squirrel jumped out of the Big Tree, ran over the fence, and started to walk the plank. I could almost touch him.

Me: "Uhm. I'm not complaining or anything, but you do know I'm standing right here, yes?"
Squirrel: "omnomnomnom."
Me: "Okay then!" *click*

After about 10 minutes he had worked his way through the sunflower seeds, cracked corn and millet and headed for the peanuts. The peanuts that were maybe 30 cm away from me. He looked, grabbed one, looked again and then turned his back on me. That meant I could step away without the squirrel having an eek-a-freak and showering me in pee and birdfood.

Me: "Thanks poppet, that was very sweet of you!"

It is a good thing we don't really have neighbours so I can be crazy squirrel lady without being judged. Too much ;)




Ty is still poorly. We made her tuna, but first she had to throw up. Then I fed her a bit and she didn't like it but she kept it in. The Beloved is calling the vet tomorrow. Maybe there's a hairball lodged in her stomach or something.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.