horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Super Bowl Sunday

This is becoming something of a habit, taking the Monday after the Super Bowl off work so I can safely watch the whole thing. This was really because a few of the season-enders I started watching, got to about halfway through the third quarter, thought "I'd better go to bed, it's 3am", and the find out it was an amazing finish.

I've loved American Football for more than 30 years, since they first started showing it on Channel 4. I think it must have been a 'thing' at school, as everyone latched onto one of three teams: The 49ers (mainly due to Montana and Rice); the Bears (William Perry); or, in my case, the Dolphins (due to Dan Marino in the main).

There were a few years I lost touch, when it moved off terrestrial television, and then when it only got shown after midnight. Granted it's now shown late as well, but I tend to stay up now, or we're living in the days of streaming. So my love of thes sport has rekindled in the last 7 or 8 years.

The jersey is from a brief work trip to Cedar Rapids, Iowa, a year and a half or so back, when I came to learn just how big college football is. After seeing everyone dressed in Iowa Hawkeyes paraphernalia on a dress down Friday, before a weekend evening game, sadly just after I left for home, I adopted them as my college team. The jersey was taken over for me by my friend Becky (from CR) when she visited the UK last year; 76 being the year I was born.

Anyway, in short, I really, really hope the Patriots don't win....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.