DrDooder

By DrDooder

The Stanley Hotel

Last night was my wife's holiday party at the Stanley Hotel. Most of us stayed overnight, and there were a lot of...hurting people this morning. Fortunately I was not one of them. I snapped this photo quickly, as it was 13 degrees F (-11C) outside.

The Stanley Hotel is probably most famous for being the setting of Stephen King's "The Shining." The popular movie adaptation uses a different hotel (in Oregon), but both the book and the movie actually produced by King himself were set here. Supposedly it's haunted; we took the "ghost tour." The poor woman giving the tour had no idea she was about to try to convince 21 scientists and engineers that this place was haunted. I just bit my tongue when she talked about the granite storing paranormal energy.

The history lesson was extremely interesting though. The original Stanley Steamer was a car (who knew?). The Stanley's invented a type of gelatin-based photography and sold it to George Eastman (as in Eastman-Kodak). After F.O. Stanley's second bout with T.B., he moved to Estes Park and built what was to become the Stanley Hotel as a summer getaway.

And no, there were no paranormal incidents. I did, however, feel the need to write REDRUM in the fog on the mirror after my shower this morning and leave it for Nichole to find later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.