Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Psycho

One of the highlights of the Christmas season for me has always been watching the Christmas Lectures from The Royal Institution on TV. They have been going since 1825 when they were started by Michael Faraday, and I have been watching them on TV for as long as I can remember. We had the chance to visit the RI today for a talk in the lecture theatre by one of the Professors about the history of the Institution, followed by a tour of the building. Fascinating stuff; we saw Michael Faraday's laboratory and some of the equipment he built, the original miner's 'Davy Lamp', and much more. Clearly, one of the pictures I took there was going to be my Blip. Until we came out. Walking down Piccadilly we passed the Royal Academy and spotted this. Called 'Transitional Object (PsychoBarn)' by the artist Cornelia Parker, it was originally commissioned in 2016 for the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York for its roof garden so was first seen against the NYC skyline. It is based on the house in the 1960 Hitchcock film 'Psycho', which itself was based on a 1925 Edward Hopper painting 'House By The Railroad'.

I couldn't abandon the RI completely though, so I've added some extras. Two of the library and adjacent corridor, and two more of the lecture theatre itself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.