Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Finally - the passenger cars are weathered.

Today I received back my three RGS passenger cars - a combine, passenger car, and the EDNA - a business car called B-20 as well, from a professional painter that weathered them for me.  I have had these for several years, and the thought of weathering them stopped me cold.  These are not $20 plastic models.  They are hand built in the orient and take months to get.  Totally accurate - every bolt, every rod, etc.  No longer available.  But as they came originally, they were somewhat shiny and crisp.  They needed just a little dirt and grim.  Probably cleaner than when they ran, but in my world, the Rio Grande Southern still runs passenger trains in 1949-50 (they stopped in the 1930's).  And they are proud of their rolling stock.  So just a little grim to take off the shine.

Finally, the B-20 business car was infact named the EDNA.  My painter also applied the decals for me.  A fun fact for me is that my wife's grandmother was named Edna so in a way there is a connection.  Fun.  The extra is a close up of EDNA.  You can't see it, but the entire interior is done, right down to the rug on the floor and the kerosine lamps on the ceiling.  And marker lights.  I think this is my favorite car in the stable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.