Olimpos lost

When I first started visiting Elm Row/Leopold Place it was because Lucy and coterie lived on the corner. This fast food joint opened, became a regular of ours, and was shut down - for what I no longer recall. It reopened some years later, but I’ve never been in. Now I never will.

Musing on the hidden meanings of everyday store closures, I enter the dentist. They’re short- staffed. Frantic. The X-rays show that my teeth are all fine, but inspection reveals another chipped filling. I’ll be back next week. This is becoming a habit.

After work I meet Ian at the Barrel House. There’s the usual suspects from work as well. It becomes clear I’ll not be riding home tonight, so I ring Nick and make the short journey to Portobello.

The heating in John Street has been condemned. They’re selling the house, so won’t fix it. Instead we visit Em - a warm house and a warm welcome. Maybe whisky on a school night wasn’t the best idea, but I never learn.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.