small town life

By georgeg

tree removal

this is where I lived as a kid. My dad lived here since he was 5 yrs. old. He died at the age of 83.
this isn't the most technically correct picture, but I was working to help clear the branches, so this is just a grab shot.
I picked this shot because it is interesting to me, it has the barn, and behind the garage on the right is the chicken house where we raised the chickens we butchered.
I remember as a kid we (my mom, and my three sisters) would butcher in early summer, we would chop of the head, scald the chickens in hot water, pick off the feathers, build a small fire and singe the hair off the breast, then the chicken would go up to the yard and on the tables that were set up they would be gutted, washed, cut up and placed in bags before they ended up in the freezer. we didn't really look forward to this job.
We also raised sheep and behind the barn is some of the pasture.

On another note this is one of the two trees that were removed today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.