... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Gull of Peace?

I don't know why this makes me think of a "Dove of Peace" but it does... So there.

This is a juvenile black-headed gull slowing down to land. The plumage of these juvenile gulls is wonderful: they still have brown accents on their wings and tails, which makes them look much more distinguished (to my eyes)!
Mount Pond is keeping me very amused at the moment: there were 9 cormorants there today, and a(nother) photographer was there feeding the birds. I've met him before (when he told me that he thought that these birds were "Lesser black-headed gulls"), and he seems a peaceful sort of fellow. He told me that there were 13 cormorants on the pond a few days ago! That is quite a gulp!
I also stroked one of the cygnets again! It had its head under the water, so I stroked its neck: its feather there were much softer than the flight feathers. Super-soft... It didn't mind (or notice?) at the time, but I must have disarranged its feathers slightly because it scratched its neck with its foot straight after raising its head out of the water!

The less comfortable-feeling part of my visit was being approached by a man who asked me how much my camera cost... Hum, I didn't like the sound of that at all. "Gosh, it is a rather old thing now; an old friend". At the time, I felt as though I was exaggerating to reduce the camera's appeal, but on reflection I suppose it is old. Mine is 5 1/2 years old, and it is a 7 year old model; that definitely is old in the dSLR world.
Perhaps he was just curious and not a threat, but it certainly didn't feel that way.

p.s. A collection of gulls is "a colony of gulls".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.