Norwich Cathedral

After Jeremy the boiler man had serviced the boiler I headed off to briefly meet up with my sister. I just managed to get here in time to hear a lunchtime organ recital played by Alex Little who used to be head chorister here but is now organist at Merton College. I spent my time looking up at this view trying not to cry too much. There was something about the resonance of the organ in this place and all those that have gone before. The sheer volume of space and time almost overwhelming.
The last time here was after mum’s cremation.
As I walked on up through Tombland I passed the medieval Halls where I spent Christmas Day. All quiet today. I wondered how all those 500 or so folk were doing now.
Heading on towards the Forum I could have easily got high on the smell of dope. There was an edgy feel and it was bitterly cold. Such a strong feel of disconnection which was hard to separate from me or the place. Not helped by getting to my sister’s work and we realised we didn’t have long enough to go anywhere because the roads back were closing for night work so I needed to head back before they closed them off.

I’ve added an extra of the cloisters

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.