Out to Pasture

Having squandered my carefully created abstract on the wrong day I found myself today with flower pictures best saved for tomorrow, another view of Mt. St Helena, this time with a tiara of snow, and this friendly horse who has been put in the pasture across the road from our field. We never know when the horses will be in this field and never have a carrot or an apple with us, but it doesn't stop them from coming over to the fence and nosing around in our pockets. This one, is very muddy, but mud probably shows up on such a thick blond winter coat, but I don't suppose there is a pasture anywhere that isn't laced with mud holes.

Speaking of which...a new pothole has sprung open at the bottom of our driveway despite the shovels full of asphalt thrown into the old ones. The water seems to come up from underneath the street despite all the drains and ditches. There must be a spring somewhere....

It is still unusually cold here. The roof has a thick coating of frost every morning and the citrus trees have been covered for days. I don't mind the cold when the sky is blue as it has been. Especially when I am sitting less than a foot from a small space heater by my feet...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.