Mummies

Had a rotten headache all day but managed to drag myself through various  meetings and did a bit more on the application we're working on. In the evening roused myself to go to a dinner at the National Museum to celebrate the opening of 3 new galleries (interesting to see I was there on the same day 4 years ago, also looking down on a different scene!). The Egyptian gallery (extra) took me back to a visit to the British Museum when I was about 8 and came face to face with some mummies....I was terrified and had bad dreams about them for ages afterwards (and also I think it's what underlies my dislike of graveyards), so I had to steel myself to walk through the display. Amazing objects in the exhibition, although I remain uneasy (for different reasons now) about people and their cultural objects being  displayed far from home like this.
The dinner was lovely though - I was sitting with the McDs so lots of good chat. They are such kind and warm people and have always been so lovely to me. Great performance by a young Scottish Opera soprano too - again echoes of previous years! At the drinks I had a surprisingly upbeat conversation about revolutionising education with JG and bumped into T&E for the first time since he retired....hasn't changed a bit!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.