Where the Light Gets In

By DHThomas

Gael(ic) force winds

a storm has risen
trees shaken down to their roots
call the earth for help

In the evening, we watched Les Victoires de la musique (the equivalent, I believe, of the Grammy Awards? What's the UK equivalent?) and were rather pleased, not only because several of the singers (male and female) we like won prizes, but also because it is an occasion to discover singers and bands we don't know. I was particularly touched by Big Flo et Oli's performance of this song, called "Rentrez chez vous" ("Go Home") which tells of the two brothers having to flee France because it is at war (it starts with "That's it - they've gone and blown up the Eiffel tower") and destruction is everywhere. They get separated on their way to the other side of the Mediterranean and the elder can't take the ship they were supposed to board with their parents. He has to resort to the services of a smuggler on a small boat, and of course he dies during the crossing. At several points during the song, they each say "it's been X days since I've had news from Flo/Oli", until Flo (the elder, who drowns) sings "I'll never hear from Oli". Well, I'm telling you, I think I am rather attuned to the fate of refugees, but this song showed me how wide off the mark I still am, by telling me a kind of reverse story. It actually puts one to shame to realise you only react, feel, things really strongly when someone makes the situation closer to you. Empathy only goes so far it seems...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.