NellieD

By NellieD

A door within a door

I decided to take myself out for a drive today. My brain is in overdrive at the moment so the hubby suggested I go for a walk and blow the cobwebs away, and I was really glad I did.

I do like a drive with my music on - currently the soundtrack from A Star is Born - and the third place I stopped at was Turton Tower. I had always assumed it was an actual tower so was surprised to find an old house when I pulled into the car park. The house doesn't open till March but the grounds were beautiful for a walk.

"Turton Tower has been evolving over the last 500 years. From a stone tower house in the 1400s, to the home of the Tudor Orrell and, later, the Victorian Kay Families, Turton Tower has been altered and adapted to suit the needs and tastes of those who lived here. Today it still captures the spirit of those ages and displays some of the finest paintings and furniture in the region. Turton Tower is a Grade 1 listed building."

I loved the old door, the scuff marks and the even smaller door inside it.

Quote for today:
Old ways don't open new doors.
- Unknown

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.