GracieG

By GracieG

An Irreverent Discovery

I left M and his daughter K at home this morning and took myself for a couple of hours to visit St Margaret’s Church in Cley, I’ve driven past it many times but this is the first time I’ve stopped and gone inside.
 
St Margaret’s Church is well inland now, but when it was built (from 1320-1340) it would have overlooked the busy Cley harbour, however the build-up of silt over the centuries has meant that it now stands overlooking the village green.  I thought it was an impressive church and is the largest in the Blakeney area. Before the end of the 14th century, a large south porch was added (see extra taken from inside the porch).
  
There are a few stained-glass windows and some contain scenes that depict the church and its relationship with the sea, the other extra shows one of these pretty windows.  The window refers to HMS Inflexible which was an Invincible-class battle-cruiser of the British Royal Navy. She was built before World War 1 and had an active career during the war. She was scrapped in 1921, I'm not sure why she is featured in this church.
 
 I very much enjoyed my visit and while there I had a look through the second-hand books for sale.  I purchased for the grand sum of £1 a book of proverbs, some of which may be useful for blip at a later date.  However, what amused me was to see a copy of Lady Chatterley’s Lover on the shelf, could you imagine that being found in a church book sale in 1960 when it was published?!  Interestingly it was first published in Italy in 1928 but was not openly published in the UK until 1960 when it was the subject of an obscenity trial against Penguin Books, who won the case and went on to publish and quickly sell 3 million copies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.