Alphabet Challenge F is for Fifties

This theme could be interpreted in different ways - things with fifty in the name, 'in your fifties' or 'the fifties' to name three.
I went for 'the fifties' - 1950s that is - well within my memory! I included several items in my Flickr entry but concentrated on this one for my Blip. This is the first 'grown up' camera I had. It is a Halina 35x 35mm. I saved up for several months to buy it in early 1958. With staff discount it cost me £7.3s.6d but I was only earning £3 a week and had to give my Mum £1, save £1 towards when I went to college so there wasn't a lot left for me! Having bought the camera I needed film of course - I wanted to take colour slides and a 36exposure Kodachrome (with an ISO of 25!) was 35/9 which included processing. So buying a film meant nearly 2 weeks of my money. Photography really was expensive then!
Thank goodness for digital ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.