Richard P

By ricky_p

Running as fast as lightning

Today was the annual relay competition "Over the Hill" between the Edinburgh Uni running club and my club Hunters Bog Trotters. The format is a pairs relay where the 1st runner runs the 5.2km road route around Arthurs Seat then the 2nd runner runs ~2.4km route to the top of Arthur's Seat then over to Nether Hill and back. 

My legs were tired from yesterday but agreed to do the 1st road leg as my partner was more suited to the Hill leg. I came back in 3rd and whilst warming down I saw this runner from the Uni club had overtaken my partner and came back in 1st. It quickly transpired that he had not known the route and didn't go over the hill to Nether and simply came down after Arthur' Seat, handing the victory to me and my partner who came in shortly after.

Fancy dress was encouraged but not compulsory. Here he was wearing a Pikachu hat. Pokemon fans will get the joke in the blip title which unfortunately I didn't come up with.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.