Waiting Room

I arrived a little early down at the palatial headquarters of Granton's premier yacht club. And I had only one bottle of beer, so it had to be nursed. After 30 minutes some others arrived and we got down to business.
But I'm not going to dwell on that. Instead, I'd like to welcome you into the mind of one John McGlynn, Hearts manager. Having persisted with a strategy of playing one player up (and a young laddie who is actually a fullback) which resulted predictably in a team which couldn't score goals, he played two conventional forwards up and we actually scored twice. I think JMcG may be in denial, or maybe he's just a plum:

We tweaked the system because, at the end of the day, I've got to get results. On Saturday we got a result. I don't necessarily think it's down to playing two forwards, or three, or one. The proof of the pudding is that we won 2-0 and we're very pleased with that.
I put myself under pressure because we had tried something and, for three games, we didn't score. You ask yourself, 'have I got a lot to lose?' It came to that scenario of 'do I have a lot to lose by changing it?' That's more or less where it came from.


Christ, work that out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.