CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

'31 Studio' exhibition, Stroud Museum in the Park

I'd forgotten that the exhibition was ending tomorrow, when I would be busy, so I rushed down to Stratford Park to have another view. I had been to the Private View, some weeks ago, which was a mistake as it was crammed to the gills and I couldn't stand back to view the images. So | needed to return.

Fred Chance had coordinated the exhibition in Stroud's Museum in the Park with the owners of the local printing company 31 Studio / Platinum Printroom, who have reinvigorated the platinum printing process. The resulting prints are wonderful and need to be seen to appreciate their amazing tonal qualities There was the added advantage that the recorded images being printed were so fine, many from very eminent photographers. Amongst them were prints from the glass negatives of Frederick Evans and Jacques Henri Lartigue and images by Bill Brandt, Don McCullin, Sebastião Salgado, Gered Mankowitz, Idris Khan, Eve Arnold and many more. Some of these are in my picture. I particularly liked a portrait of Giacometti by Noel Coward, and a well known portrait of Jimi Hendrix soon after he arrived in England to form the Experience, one of my favourite bands.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.