Between hills and clouds

A most unusual day. I had a morning of meetings scheduled, on a day that I  am timetabled to be the doctor for the Urgent Response Service. I mentioned this to the clinical team leader last week. When I talked to my Director about it, she said that I needed to go to URS, after the meeting with the District Inspectors, as that was essential. She would replace me in the meetings about the third strike action by the resident doctors. 

I dutifully trotted off (actually took the shuttle bus) to Greenlane and turned up where I was greeted with surprise. They had organised the back up psychiatrist to be the first responder, and indeed she was already out seeing a man with a manic relapse. When she arrived back and we talked, it was clear that she had managed this extremely well.

There were no other referrals for patients to be seen all day. I was able to do some reading and my colleague did her paperwork in peace and quiet rather than back in a busy CMHC. I headed back to Auckland City Hospital in time for the afternoon strike meeting, dealt with emerging medicolegal questions and came home only a little bit late.

But not having got out the camera. After a light meal, I watered the plants on the deck and watched the sunset, and used the Pentax to get this photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.