Diddydiddypuff

By Diddydiddypuff

Social smiles

A successful first week of my (Blip recorded) self-set goal of reading more. I enjoyed last week's book and am immediately enjoying the latest loan. It's a book by Derren Brown (whose proficiency with NeuroLinguistic Programming/hypnosis type techniques has always impressed and unnerved me in equal measure).

He opens with a passage about the innocuous smile emoticon. It resonated with me, especially as I probably overthink tone and content in social text. The first chapter (funnily enough called 'Beginnings', same as my first Blip last week) then starts with a story about a young girl and her Mum, that again resonated for me. With all this 'resonation' I then recalled an episode of a Derren Brown TV show. He wrote letters to a group of individuals and many of the recipients cried reading their letter, truly sobbed, at how well he knew them....but turns out that all the letters had the same content. Very smart. I think that I am going to enjoy reading this one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.