WildGoose61N

By WildGoose61N

Grant, a biography by Chernow.

In the last few days, I began listening to a biography of Ulysses S. Grant by Ron Chernow as an audio book on Overdrive (an app that links into libraries for free audio or print versions of books). I have the download for 3 weeks and the book is 1000 pages. Yikes. It promises to be a great "read", or in my case listen. Like many Americans, I do not know much about President Grant. His history is glossed over in school, or I was in a daze, (both may be true). I had not realized, for example, that he and many of the other generals in the Civil War on both sides went to West Point and some first met one another there. The author writes well and captures the details of the personalities, like those of his parents, and how those influenced his personality. 

Enough for today. Soon it will be tomorrow here, so I'd better publish this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.