Seeing Beyond Looking

By SandraSuisse

A recipe for you!

I just know you're all going to love this - unless you're allergic to any of the ingredients.
When I went to my local supermarket yesterday, I saw that they had come out with some really interesting looking food kits! They were so beautifully packaged with all the ingredients necessary! I came home with the soup one. Please look in extras to see a collage of the kit and ingredients!

So, here's the promised recipe which serves 4:
I like to cook it in my Le Creuset cast iron cocotte (Dutch oven)

400 grams carrots, peeled and cut into chunks
400 grams sweet potato, cut the same way
1 big onion
2dl coconut milk
2 tsp honey
A little salt

The ginger, which I grated, was my personal addition because I love the spicy taste and its health benefits!

Toss the diced onion and vegetables in a small amount of olive oil, add 1 litre water, salt to taste and simmer gently till tender, about 20 minutes.
Remove from heat and mix with a blender (I have a hand-held one). Check the seasoning, add the coconut milk, the honey and the freshly grated ginger root. Reheat gently to just simmering. If you like, you can keep a little of the coconut milk back to swirl on the soup before serving.
Delicious with a slice of wholemeal bread and a small chunk (about 30-35 grams) of any cheese of your choice. I have used mature Cheddar.

If you try the recipe, let me know if you like it! Next time, I'll buy the ingredients separately, it probably costs a little less. The kit cost 9.90 Swiss francs, 9.85 US $ or £7.62

Perhaps we should have a recipe day challenge?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.