But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Part 3.

Back to moving bees again, for the third day on the trot. As planned, I fixed the barrow, shortened the hive stand legs by six inches and moved some of the bracing. Half of the screws holding the braces are obviously under a lot of stress, as they had systematically snapped. They will need replacing, but that job can wait for a day or two.
Again, the bees showed not the slightest interest in me manhandling them as I moved the smaller of the two remaining hives and, following from yesterday’s experience, I didn’t bother suiting up. Those that know me know that I will risk being near bees without wearing protective clothing but I really, really make sure that I have anti-histamines and epi-pens to hand – whatever I am wearing. I couldn’t move the final hive as the bees were flying so that they could uncross their legs. It was quite warm today so I’ll have to return another day in the early evening when they’re tucked up in bed. The weather is due to be cooler on Thursday, just for the day, so I’ll try and fit it in then and replace the screws at the same time.
 
Before wending my way home, I found may way across the field and found the High Pond. The swans co-operated reasonably well though the ducks waddled off across the ice and disappeared around the corner.

I've just posted yesterday's "Part 2."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.