Joy

Had an early finish to work today, so that I could drive S north to her mother's. Today is her 99th birthday. I commented to S this evening that her mother has not been prevented by age from doing what she has been interested in. Gardening at one time and then an intense focus on her painting. Her physical illnesses have definitely interfered with how much she has been able to do, but age alone has had no impact on what she has done.

A good lesson for all of us, and indeed for me. When I started this contract in February 2017, I had queried the employer whether my age was significant, and was assured not. Nevertheless, during that 15 month contract, I was known to comment that I was old. Not that I feel any different (intellectually and emotionally) from 20 years ago for instance. The year long extension of the contract is about to come to an end, and a new contract is being drawn up as my age is not affecting my ability to do the work they want me to do. And I no longer say that I am old. 

I took this photo while her younger son and S and I were singing Happy Birthday. The joy on her face is as obvious as if she were 90 years younger

I had a jog around the exposed shoreline, while Mother-in-law rested, and have included as an extra a photo taken from the northern limit of Algies Bay, of a little pied shag a fair distance away on offshore rocks. It felt good to be able to run for significant time and distance on the sand.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.