Safely away

I was very happy to see this beautiful monarch fly away this morning. It's not the best shot but I thought that if I tried to move it then I would probably miss out on a photo altogether. While taking this I noticed an altercation between two caterpillars on one of the swan plants.  One of the caterpillars had decided that it was going to form into a chrysalis on the plant and was hanging by its 'feet' from one of the leaves.  However another large caterpillar was trying to eat the same leaf it   The hanging one which was hanging by little more than a thread (extra1) was  swinging and trying to hit the other one away (extra2) I moved the 'attacker' further down the plant but it went straight back up and they started again. (extra3) This time I moved nuisance right away.  A little while later I went out again and the chrysalis was half formed but it was still wriggling quite a lot (extra4) and then a little later again the transformation was complete.(extra5) I think I will likely remove it from it's precarious position and stick it somewhere safe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.