Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

1573. Happy Valentine’s Day....

After yesterday’s full on stuff going on, today has been a bit calmer but no less busy. Yesterday my youngest phoned me from work where he was sitting with his manager at about 6 pm to tell me that they hadn’t given him the leave for our trip down to Bletchley Park in a couple of weeks, which was my choice to celebrate my birthday. He’d been told that he had to sort out people to do his shifts or he couldn’t go despite booking these dates 4 months ago...needless to say I was furious, not with him but with his employer. He had been given some time off from the 28th January to the 5th February and I thought it a bit odd that he’d got the exact same dates but a month too soon, so I’d asked him to check this out which of course he didn’t do....he assumed that as he’d told them the correct dates that they would put in those dates but it appears that they haven’t. So cue several phone calls and a bit of negotiating on his part he only has to try and get cover for one shift not 4 but if he can’t they are going to honour the original dates as it seems that the old manager just had people write down their leave on scraps of paper but there was no system for checking leave dates.....thankfully that had now been changed. The moral of this story is that he should check everything ten times as their organisation seems only slightly better than his! Then his crowning glory was that he then asked me for the original of his birth certificate so he could send a copy to his Dad for some immigration purpose or other...now he left home 7 years ago and all his important papers were safely stored in a file which I gave him...but can he find it?....no as it’s buried under a mountain of stuff in a cupboard he’s flatly refusing to sort out.....but of course because I know him well I made a copy of it before he left and kept it....
I’d had a lovely afternoon at the cinema watching the Green Book, which was excellent too, followed by a rather rushed meal out and home earlier than expected to deal with this stuff!
So today I went to my photo club then straight home to cook lunch and I arrived back to a lovely bouquet of red roses and these pretty heart lights from my hubby....isn’t that romantic? This afternoon has been spent clearing cupboards and re-organising our spare room after getting some new wardrobes in there....and of course that involves moving stuff from other places too but it’s all tidy with everything in its place....and now relax....
I’m sorry I’ve been a poor blip buddy of late but even though I’m retired I hardly seem to get a minute spare.....

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.