Food, Travel and Whimsey

By Fetch

Happy Valentines Day

Today can be a tough day for some people. So I thought I'd share this note I wrote to my 3 year old nephew a couple of years ago while I was having a 'bad day'.

"Dear Nephew,

Today's not been one of the best and frankly, if I'm honest, it's not looking like a great month. But that's OK.
There are going to be times when it feels like if you ran into a Phone box you wouldn't even be Clark Kent when you exited. (a phone box is...never mind I'll explain the reference later)
And that's fine, everyone (no matter how charmed their life or together they seem) hits rough patches now and again and no matter how bad they seem at the time things will get better.
I don't really have any advice that doesn't sound trite or clichéd (and "it's always darkest before" is just plain rubbish). I really don't. You'll get through it. It may not seem like it at the time but the bad days pass.
But if you don't think you can, you don't have to do things alone. You'll always have your family and if you're even half a lucky as I am you'll have some amazing friends.
That's it, that's all I've got.

Oh, and there's tea. A steaming hot cup of tea makes everything seem better.
And hugs from tiny humans."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.