Pictures & Woodwork.

By PeterB

Turning the handles...

......on the rolling pin. In this shot I am about half way through but you will see in the first extra both handles finished. 
Thoroughly sanded from a 120 grit right up to 240 and 400 hundred grits.
     The pin is now super smooth and in the second extra I have put the first coat of food oil on it, which brings up the grain in the wood. I am not sure whether you can see it, it has also brought up 'Gold Flecks' which is a characteristic of the Sapele wood. 

     I have purposely left the pin in the lathe as I will be applying 2 more coats of food oil and when dry I will sand the ends of the handles to take out the marks left by the centre pins.

     When I have done this I will take a decent shot of it without all the machinery around it!

Hope you all have a nice weekend and enjoy this sunny weather.
Take care.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.