Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

A very foggy start

to the day was replaced by glorious sunshine and warmth by lunchtime.
I was romping through a suite of drawings which had contained misinformation for at least 18 months and I had discovered the cause, all I needed to do was winkle out the present truth.
My kind of work!

The Letting Agent phoned me. The pigeons had been reported to my Landlord and he had agreed that Something Should Be Done. So was it OK to simply hand over my contact details to the Loft Investigator? Yes of course!
I did take the opportunity to put in a good word for my upstairs neighbours – They're no trouble and I rather enjoy listening to them . . .
It fell on dear ears. They are not enhancing my Landlord's investment.

The Landlord cannot have been unaware of their presence, and had he really wanted to do anything about it he should have done so between lets, when he bought some sparkly new kitchen appliances (including sink & taps) and had the bathroom re-tiled (not including taps - I had to demand those).

He's a sweet guy and he has my sympathy, I know what it is like to be a Landperson, responsible for maintenance in a flat let out to whomsoever the Letting Agent thought was capable of stumping up the rent. It just so happens that I am a really good tenant, and my tenants are really good too, but perhaps that is a story for another day.

I suspect that he has been pushed into making the loft space inaccessible to pigeons outside. It'll cost him a bob or two, it will lose me my gentle cooing and it will make my birdies homeless.

But it will make some money for Loft Inspector and probably also for Letting Agent to boot.

Will I still refer to it as The Pigeon Loft once my company has been evicted? 
Only time will tell.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.