La vida de Annie

By Annie

Ladrillo favorito.

Product shoot today at the brick factory, for their new online catalogue. I was told 60 - 70 bricks, and expected it to take about an hour. Turns out what they call bricks here are not the stock bricks seen in the UK, but rather concrete blocks of great variation in shape and size, and it took a full 3 hours to shoot them all. Some took 2 men to lift them from a forklift truck, and the largest was a full metre long (it ripped the backdrop). This was one of the smaller ones and was my favourite.
After that I just had time to get to my appointment with a dermatologist in Mahon - my GP recommended I get my plethora of moles checked out as they seem to be multiplying weekly. The guy fired a volley of Catalan at me as I went in, which always sounds like a cat spitting up furballs to my unattuned ear - I can get the gist of Spanish if relaxed, but something about this doc made me tense up. I politely apologised and asked him if he spoke English. In perfect English he said it's Spain and I should be able to speak Spanish here (I agree and am working on it), and proceeded to tell me off like a strict headmaster. He asked my age and pronounced the moles not moles but warts, which you get as you reach my age. He never did give me a chance to use any of the Spanish I know, which was probably a good thing as when I get stressed I can hardly string a few words together even in English. He did belatedly ask if I had any severe incidents in my medical history, and on hearing I had a Subarachnoid Haemorrhage 7 years ago, stopped chastising me but offered no apology  or reassurance about the "only age warts". What a rude man. It quite spoilt my day. All the other medical staff I've seen have been lovely. We are all human beings after all, not to be defined by our country of origin. Rant over.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.