This

By This

Geodesic Dome

Loisbiz, you were asking about my passion for geodesic domes. I used to enjoy building polyhedrons with a set of magnetic rods and balls. I'm fascinated how patterns of triangles can form spheres.

When we moved house a couple of years ago, I had the time and opportunity to do something different with our back garden. I really wanted an arbour, somewhere sheltered to hide away and enjoy the wildlife. Then I thought of doing something similar with a geodesic dome. So I built a 3m diameter dome, with a see-through PVC roof, using a hub kit from buildwithhubs.com, and sawing a lot of pieces of wood. (Hub close-up in the extras)

I've been surprised how much use it has had. In summer, I'm out there for hours. In colder weather I can now photograph birds outside even in rain or snow. It also means the garden chairs and cushions can stay out all year, so whenever we fancy, we can sit out. If it's freezing, we don't stay out for long!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.