Dakers

By Dakers

Railway Lamp from Wormit Station

I purchased this rather battered lamp at Balmerino Jumble Sale about fifteen years ago. It was used at Wormit Railway Station which was situated at the Fife end of the Tay Rail Bridge. The station closed on 5 May 1969.

I was attracted to the lamp by the unusual "jaunty" appearance. It is a paraffin lamp manufacturerd by Joseph Lucas. It has the main lense which is red and two smaller lenses mounted on the side. It has a mounting bracket on the back.

It certainly has a "personality" and it always reminds me of the friend who had rescued it from the closed station. He was the father of my now retired dentist.

That is my Blipfoto for today.

Wormit Railway Station was dismantled and rebuilt at Bo’ness on the preserved line run by the Scottish Railway Preservation Trust.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.