Bom

By Bom

The First of Many???

I promised to post a photo of my completed mosaic of a hare running, so here it is. There was an awful lot of work to do on Day 2, completing the cutting and placement of tiles, letting the glue dry, carefully painting the tiles with linseed oil, then mixing up the grout and spreading it over the work, and finally very carefully doing the initial clean. We overran by an hour and a half but the lovely tutor didn't seem to mind at all and urged us not to rush too much.  She was also happy to help with the cleaning of my mosaic to help me out. I'd wanted to learn how to do mosaics for years, so it was a wonderful present G bought for me and it's so lovely to share these craft experiences. The tutor also does stained glass pieces and I'd quite like to try that too. I had a go myself a few years ago at a door number mosaic, and although it looked ok, I now realise I went about it all the wrong way with the wrong tiles, incorrect preparation of the wood, wrong approach to cutting the tiles and not sticking them down correctly. I would like to make several pieces for the garden to hang up on the walls and also hopefully do a garden table top and maybe some mosaic planters - possibly doing a couple of pieces a year.  Now I just need to get the kit I need - evidently the best place is near Peterborough! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.