A view from St Swithin

By stswithin50

Old Aberdeen

The chief is away this weekend  In London so I've got the weekend to myself. 

I managed the Parkrun this morning where there was a visiting Kenyan runner and David Moorcroft ( ex European Champion I think ) who are in the city for a charity dinner. 
This afternoon I had a wander around Old Aberdeen, at one time a separate burgh of Aberdeen and  site of our University . The blip is St Machars Cathedral which dates from the 12C and the extra is Kings College . The university was founded in 1495 making it the 3rd oldest University in Scotland and the 5th oldest in the UK , The oldest part of Kings College is the Chapel ( dating from the 15th C ) which is a favourite venue for graduates to get married . My parents were married here and both my sisters . 
On the way back to the car I popped into the Cruickshank Gardens - which had some decent displays of snowdrops . One of the informative notice boards told me that snow drop bulbs contain galantamine - nowadays used as a treatment for Alzheimers . More here if you are interested . 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.