The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Stuck in the mud

The train from Grange crossing the Kent viaduct coming into Arnside station.

The last time I photographed the Arnside viaduct in the dark, I was taken by surprise by the Arnside bore (the tidal one) and ended up standing up to my ankles in water waiting for a late train to come through. Tonight I knew there wouldn't be a tide, and I ventured out onto the mudflats a little way to get some foreground interest, but after standing in the same position for ten minutes or so, I was stuck firmly in the mud. With a bit of assistance from the tripod, I eventually levered my wellies out.

There may be no blip tomorrow, as I shall be in London all day (fog permitting) and back late.

ps I wasn't trying to give the impression I was doing anything intrepid - just something daft - I was five metres from hard standing, and the worst that could have happened would be losing my wellies and getting cold, wet feet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.