Pictorial blethers

By blethers

The Birds...

Do you remember Hitchcock's movie The Birds? I shall never forget going to see it in our local cinema (The Tivoli in Partick) and coming out traumatised to see the notice the cinema had put up at the doors to the street: This way to Crow Road ... with black crows flying over it, their beaks dripping red ...

Anyway, this was an attempt to capture our bird population. I've been wanting to for ages, but it's so hard to do as they all vanish if I go out with a camera. The best place to see them is when I'm washing the dishes, as the sink is at the kitchen window. I don't know how many sparrows (house sparrows and dunnocks) use our hedge as a refuge in the winter, but it's hilarious to watch them come and go and even more so when a mob of them stick their heads out at the same time. This photo shows several sitting along the top, and another two lower down who've just appeared. They're all interested in the bird table off to the left; by the time I took this they'd eaten practically a whole feeder full of seed.

I once watched a sparrow-hawk pace up and down this hedge for all of half an hour ... but that's another story!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.