AviLove

By avilover

It's a bird, it's a plane....

No, it's just the fern ball at Wellington's Civic Centre. Not my best shot of it; I had to nab a quick one with my iPad because I realized the only pictures I had today were of a depressing memorial wall in the Te Papa Museum, honoring the 49(!) species of endemic birds that have gone extinct in New Zealand since the arrival of the first humans 800 years ago.

The fern ball sculpture, which hangs suspended over the courtyard of the civic centre complex, is a much more uplifting image, a demonstration of Wellington's creativity and celebratory enthusiasm for expression. Walking around this area and the nearby waterfront is a lovely experience; the place is dripping with captivating sculpture, clever walkways, and thought-provoking imagery.

I leave tomorrow on the ferry for the South Island. My time in Wellington has been mellow--less super packed with sights and walks and activities, more infused with long contemplative sits in the library, coffee indulgences, and meandering strolls through Te Papa. I wish I had more time here, which is to say, I look forward to coming back.

I am very excited about my evening plans. I may have been off on a quiet island waiting for penguins to wash themselves ashore on Nov 28th, when the world premiere of The Hobbit took place here in Wellington, but I certainly won't be missing the first wide-release showing at midnight tonight. I must have known when I booked the ferry for midday of 12.12.12 that I would need to sleep in in the morning.

One of the few midnight showings I've attended in my life was actually The Two Towers in 2002--on the eve of my first college final, which, after returning to my dorm at 4:30 am, I promptly failed three hours later. Hopefully no such calamity will result from making sure I see The Hobbit in Wellington....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.