It's Grim Up North

By lynnfot

On the bay

Small, achy walk for the arthritic along the bay at Conishead Priory. Tried to be greatful that I only have an arthritic ankle holding me back and am not confined to a wheelchair with cerebral palsy, like one of the women in the cafe. I couldn't manage it, selfish cow that I am.

Excellent meal last night at the ex-brother-in-law's, with the the ex-sister-in-law (my friend from art college), the ex-husband and his wife, (my friend M), my ex-nephew (aged 33), my husband and the dog. 

Fish paella, roast potatoes and shallots, mushroom and spinach frittata, roast aubergine, spicy marinaded  carrots followed by cheeseboard.

Good to see the ex-nephew looking well and having gained weight. He has had Chrons since he was sixteen, which holds him back in many aspects of life, though he has completed two degrees in that time. He has new plans for the future, new treatments which are helping. My favourite memory of the ex-nephew is, at my wedding to the ex-husband, of him clinging to his fathers leg, crying "I want my daddy, I want my daddy, I want my daddy...", whilst his father made the best man's speech.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.