Plus ça change...

By SooB

Elder

The elder tree is well out in leaf. Normally I spot this as soon as it happens, but the shutters are sealed shut (the catch is broken so we screw then shut for security when we go away, and Mr B did it last time and I can’t undo it), so I missed it.

Lots of outdoor work today and, despite my assurance to myself that I would wear gloves for weeding, I did not and have fingers full of bramble thorns.

On the plus side, mange-tout were planted, and most beds were weeded. Meanwhile, Mr B pimped the pergola I built years ago so it will be strong enough to have a half-proper roof. Mostly it was put up with the power of swearing. Super hot again today: our shade thermometer read 26 Celsius. And the barbecue season was officially launched with spatchcock chicken and outdoor eating in the evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.