Underwhelming Snap

Goodbye Alice - and over ranges of rainforest covered hills and into Cairns. Pretty humid, but with a nice light sea breeze keeping it comfortable, so obviously we kept close to that. Boats! We sat up in a place by the Cairns Yacht Club and had a bite (the best ever sweet potato chips, apparently) and a beer or two to get more fully acclimatised. Then a walk around the town. I was promised fish that walk on mud, but saw none, and then, after overcoming our disappointment with an ice cream, we came across trees full of a screeching cacophony. Pterodactyls! I kid you not, hundreds of them, hanging upside down and flying round the place. How we gawped!
Jees. So after that there was a trip to Woolworths to stock up - what a great store - they should open some U.K. branches as I’m sure they’d be a success.
And being in Oz, I found a terrific political periodical - The Monthly. Ask me anything - Abbott, Morrison, Dutton, Turnbull, Bishop - and the Murdochs, I know! And Pentecostalism - it’s rapidly expanding in SE Asia (half a billion adherents) and that ScoMo, the Oz PM is one, don’t you know. And they really really believe in the devil. I mean really, as if he really exists. I tell you friends, there’s a dark underbelly here, but I’m on it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.