Elroyofderovers

By Elroyofderovers

Exposure

Training tonight with the Colts in the freezing cold. Was a good session, until I tore my calf muscle. I really need to remember why I stopped playing football.

As it was such a clear night I went into the back garden to try a StarTrail....it never worked! I need more practise. Anyway, it did show up something pretty fascinating when I looked at the pictures afterwards. The image on the Left (the Red L) is the same as the one on the Right (Red R) but about 30 seconds apart. The only other difference was the exposure level in post. Totally amazed by the number of stars picked up in the Right image that weren't obvious until I increased the exposure. The camera obviously picks up a LOT more than the human eye (all I could see was the image on the Left).

So the moral of the story?
- Stop playing football (when you get to my age)!
- Practise, practise, practise StarTrails.
- Play around with your exposure on your pictures, you never know what the camera will have picked up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.